Fortnightly Timetable Cycle: Week commencing 19th November, Week A
VISITORS to the School: please bring with you one form of identification: e.g, an official identity badge, passport, driving license or a bank card.
School tours are available upon request and we actively encourage parents to visit us during the school day to see us at work.
For all planned school trips – payment of a deposit or payment in full if applicable is required via Parent Pay to secure a place on a trip.

The Governing Board

Abbeyfield School is one of a growing number of schools in the Creative Education Trust (CET) family. CET is a non-profit educational charity recognised by the Department for Education as one of the leading multi-academy chains. 

Its vision is to educate young people to have the qualifications, knowledge, skills and confidence they need to be independent, successful and creative in tomorrow’s world. The aim is to be among the best providers of publicly-funded education in the country and to ensure that pupils get the best exam results and qualifications of which they are capable. But in addition, it recognises the importance of keeping pupils safe and seeks to ensure they have the opportunity to enjoy a rich mix of co-curricular activities including Sport, Music, Drama, Dance,Art, and Debating so that they fulfil their full potential as individuals and as contributors to society. Please click on the 'Knowledge Connected' video clip below:


Governance – scheme of delegation summary 

The CET Board is the overall governing body of the Trust and all its Academies. It is charged with the strategic direction of the Trust and is responsible to the Secretary of State for Education for executing its statutory duties. It appoints Academy Council (AC) members and chairs. Its main functions are: 

  • setting annual performance targets
  • determining all statutory and other policies
  • ensuring that curriculum requirements are met
  • setting the budget for the Trust and each academy
  • being the employer of all staff
  • being the ultimate body of appeal within the Trust
  • agreeing all major building work with the Education Funding Agency (EFA). 

The Academy Council (AC) is a sub-committee of the CET Board and is the local presence of the Board with representatives from the school community, the local community and regional businesses and organisations. The main functions of the AC are: 

  • holding the Principal/Headteacher to account for: pupils’ welfare and attendance; academic standards; and co-curricular provision
  • having oversight of child protection, pupil premium spending, special educational needs and provision for looked after children
  • agreeing the academy development plan with the Principal/Headteacher
  • hearing first appeals under CET disciplinary, capability and grievance policies with regard to pupils and staff
  • monitoring the recruitment, deployment and performance of staff
  • monitoring the implementation of CET policies. 

Full details are available in the scheme of delegation which is available on the CET website:






The Principal of Abbeyfield School reports to the Chief Executive Officer of the Trust, who agrees annual goals and objectives for the school and provides expertise and support in helping to attain them. The trust is governed by a Board of Directors, who have established the Abbeyfield Academy Council (AAC) as a sub-committee of the Board to oversee the daily running of the school. The school thus benefits from an effective mix of both national oversight and local insight and control.  

Councillors are appointed by the Trust and include elected representatives of parents, teaching staff and other school employees. Members of the AAC collectively have a wide range of experience in industry and commerce at both a local and national level, and deep roots in the local community  On an individual basis, Councillors are active in the school in a variety of ways. The Chair of the AAC, Peter Walls, is also a Director of the Trust. Governance was recognized as ‘Good’ in the last Ofsted inspection. Councillors may be contacted at any time through the Clerk at the school. Please address your correspondence to: Ms Linda O'Sullivan, Clerk to the Councillors, Abbeyfield School, Mereway, Northampton, NN4 8BU

Abbeyfield Academy Council 2017-18 is comprised as follows:

Chair of Councillors: Mr Peter Walls  

Peter Walls Chair of Governors


Vice Chair of Councillors

  • Mr Kevin Read

Parent Councillors

  •  Mr Terry Nelson

Sponsor Councillors

  • Mr Conrad Saint
  • Mr Ian Smith
  • Mrs Elizabeth Sherry
  • Mr Carl Squires

Teaching Staff Councillors

  • Ms Vanessa Gledhill

Support Staff Councillors

  • Mrs Deborah Harrison

Clerk to the Councillors

  • Ms Linda O'Sullivan 

To view our Governance Scheme of Delegation summary, please click here. Full details are available on the CET website- please click here.